Super Rugby Pacific 2022

From 2022-02-18
at Kick off Start
Super Rugby Pacific 2022

The 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season is the 27th season of Super Rugby, an annual rugby union competition organised by SANZAAR between teams from Australia, Fiji, New Zealand, Samoa and Tonga. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the previous seasons were replaced with Super Rugby Unlocked, Super Rugby Aotearoa and Super Rugby AU in 2020, and Super Rugby Aotearoa, Super Rugby AU, and Super Rugby Trans-Tasman in 2021.

The 2022 edition will revert to a 12-team competition, with a single pool replacing the geographical conference system, as well as introducing a new name for the reformatted competition. The season is expected to run from 18 February, with the final to be played on 18 June – culminating before the start of the mid-year international window.

With the exclusion or withdrawal of the Argentine Jaguares, the Japanese Sunwolves, and the South African Bulls, Lions, Sharks and Stormers sides at the conclusion of the 2020 Super Rugby season, three new teams were announced to make up the 12 team tournament. The Fiji Rugby Union’s domestic team, the Fijian Fijian Drua, having previously competed in the Australian National Rugby Championship from 2017 to 2019, were announced as one addition to the competition.

The newly created Moana Pasifika franchise, representing players from Samoa and Tonga and other Pacific Islands, also successfully put forth a bid to join the competition. The Force also returned to Super Rugby, following their exclusion at the end of the 2017 Super Rugby season and following on from their inclusion in Super Rugby AU and Super Rugby Trans-Tasman in both 2020 and 2021.

It's more fun with friends. Share with friends

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin